HELENSBURGH AND LOMOND AREA COMMUNITY PLANNING GROUP COMMUNITY SERVICES

Community Council By - Elections

1 Summary

This report provides information on the recent Community Council By-Elections.

2 Recommendation

To note the contents of this report.

3 Background

A review of the Scheme of Community Councils in Argyll & Bute was undertaken in 2008 and implemented in April 2009.

The first elections for all 56 Community Councils were held in October 2009 where 54 of the Community Councils were constituted.

Further by-elections were held in December 2009 and March and October 2010 to fill the remaining vacancies. Following that all Community Councils were written to in July 2011 to enquire whether they wanted their remaining vacancies to be filled by running further By-Elections. The publication of the Notice of Election was advertised in the local papers and published on the Councils website on week beginning 1 August with the close of nominations being on Thursday 18 August 2011. One contest arose for Kilmun Community Council and the timetable for this is detailed at section 5 of this report.

4. In the undernoted areas, the following Community Councils asked for By-Elections to be run.

Mid-Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands

Southend – 2 vacancies
The Laggan – 3 vacancies
Campbeltown – 4 vacancies
Tarbert & Skipness – 4 vacancies
Islay – 12 vacancies
Jura – 2 vacancies
Colonsay – 5 vacancies
South Knapdale – 3 vacancies
Ardrishaig – 5 vacancies
Inveraray – 1 vacancy

As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies to be filled, no contests for the Mid Argyll, Kintyre & The Islands Area were required. As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors within the Community councils listed.

Southend Donald McLean (1)
Tarbert & Skipness Duncan I MacDougall (1)

Islay Glenmore Roberts, Fiona MacGregor, Alice Stewart, Geunda

CL Young, Elizabeth Gillies, David Boyd, Niall Colthart (7)

Jura Alexander Dunnachie (1)

Ardrishaig Eric B Marriott (1)

Helensburgh and Lomond

Rhu & Shandon – 10 vacancies Cove & Kilcreggan – 5 vacancies Arrochar & Tarbet – 1 vacancy Rosneath & Clynder – 5 vacancies Helensburgh – 3 vacancies Cardross – 4 vacancies

As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies to be filled, no contests for the Helensburgh and Lomond Area were required. As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors within the Community councils listed.

Rhu & Shandon Morven Boyle (1)

Cove & Kilcreggan Alastair Lamont, Derek Fowlis (2)

Helensburgh Neil Drummond, Alastair M MacBeth, David Allan (3)

Cardross Wendy Clarke, Rikki Young (2)

Oban, Lorn and the Isles

Mull – 4 vacancies
lona – 3 vacancies
Coll – 1 vacancy
Oban – 14 vacancies
Glenorchy & Innishail – 4 vacancies
Avich & Kilchrenan – 6 vacancies
Luing – 2 vacancies
Kilninver & Kilmelford – 4 vacancies
Seil & Easdale – 1 vacancy
Dunbeg – 4 vacancies
Lismore – 3 vacancies
Ardchattan – 7 vacancies

As the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacancies to be filled, no contests for the Oban, Lorn & the Isles Area were required. As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors within the Community councils listed.

Oban Stewart McIver, Andrew M Harper, Sean MacIntyre, Jessie

MacFarlane, Andrew I Waugh, Alexandra Russell, Mandy J

Peden, June Anfield (8)

Glenorchy & Innishail Florence A Marshall, Martin Goodwin (2)

Avich & Kilchrenan Vinh Burton Smith, Peta Burton Smith, Iain R Alexander, John

L Fleming, Veronica CK Metcalfe (5)

Kilninver & Kilmelford Peter J Hammick, Lucy Files, Stuart G Cannon (3) **Ardchattan** Margaret A Adams, Lachie Strathern, Iain S MacLean (3)

Bute and Cowal

Strachur – 3 vacancies
Kilfinan – 3 vacancies
Hunter's Quay – 2 vacancies
Kilmun – 1 vacancy
Sandbank – 3 vacancies
Dunoon – 10 vacancies
South Cowal – 5 vacancies
Bute – 7 vacancies

As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors within the Community councils listed.

Strachur Isabella McGladdery (1)
Hunter's Quay Malcolm Kennedy (1)

Kilmun Contest

Dunoon Robert M Barr, Mary T W Gilmore, Ruth G McManus (3)

South Cowal Victoria Walkingshaw, John R Hutcheon, Alexandra MacInnes

(3)

Bute Michael Blair, Charles Fryars, Peter Hamilton (3)

5. TIMETABLE

The timetable for the Kilmun by-election is detailed below:-

Monday 1 August 2011 – Publication of Notice of Election

Thursday 18 August 2011 – Close of Nominations

Thursday 1 September 2011 – Notice of Poll/Notice of Uncontested Election

Thursday 8 September 2011 – Issue of Postal Votes

Thursday 22 September 2011 – Election Day

Friday 23 September 2011 – Count of Votes

Shirley MacLeod Area Governance Manager

20 August 2011